Lolita

Lolita

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, 1955
Read: January 1, 2016 – January 6, 2016

Over the past few days I’ve found, thanks to it’s superb reputation, the need to preface conversations about this book  with the phrase: “It’s weird… but I really enjoyed it.’ I agree with Nabokov’s thoughts in the afterword that readers have put too much focus on the plot and not on the novel as a work of art. With that in mind this was an amazing read. I continually found myself in awe of his command of language. His prose is remarkably dense and admittedly most of his references went over my head.  Regardless, I found myself fawning over his wordplay and sentence construction. With no education in writing or it’s mechanics I cannot explain what or how he was able to accomplish this effect. The simple fact that I was still floored speaks volumes of his talent.

Rating: 8 out of 10

Leave a Reply

