Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Jules Verne, 1870
Read: January 7, 2016 – January 10, 2016

I find something incredibly endearing about adventure novels from the late 19th century. As a fan of science fiction and fantasy I found ‘Twenty Thousand Leagues” particularly interesting as one of the genres early and influential works. Verne’s characters, grand schemes, and especially bizarre environments were wonderfully conceived. Conseil with his matter-of-factness and unwavering loyalty never ceased to make me chuckle.  The only drawback I came across was its overly extensive descriptions of flora and fauna. Despite my best intentions at times my eyes glazed over until the Nautilus began the next segment in its journey. Even so, I’m glad I finally got around to reading the unabridged version as it was far different than the children’s version I remember reading once upon a time.

Rating: 6 out of 10 cetaceans

– This book cover design is the work of the very talented Jim Tierney. If you’re as big a fan of cover art as I am do yourself a favor and check out his site.

2 thoughts on “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Leave a Reply

