State of Mediocrity

2016: Looking Back

This is how pretty much everyone feels about 2016.

I don’t disagree but man… what a wonderful year. I’m in a fantastic long-term relationship, I’m applying for graduate school, and I got back into reading in my first full year out of college. Pretty, pretty, prettay good.

In the last year I managed to read 51 books – a good deal more, required reading excluded, than I read through five years of college. What a ride. I started this site to keep myself accountable and record my thoughts on each book. It turns out I didn’t need this to keep myself accountable; I read far more than I ever anticipated. And yet, I do think it would be nice to return to writing a short review for each book I read.

Last year I fell off my short reviews just after a few books. I think that’s because I didn’t set and list any concrete goals. I’m sorry! Everything was up in the air. Willy-nilly. This site and it’s ridiculous name was created on a whim. I had no rules of when to post or what to include. Here’s how that will change:

2017: Looking Ahead

I hope to make 2017 an amazing year for all things bookish.

I will read 50 books this year. That’s insane you say! Less than last year… That’s not a goal; that’s idiocy. I understand your concerns. Life will be a tad busier this year. Fifty books is a lofty goal.

To begin the year there will be two types of posts.

Posts on Monday will resemble those from last year. Each week I’ll post either a short review of the book I’ve finished in the week prior or a progress report of sorts. These posts will include a few sentences or paragraphs detailing my thoughts, a rating, and which book/s are on deck.

Posts on Friday, if applicable, will contain collection updates. I’m an aspiring librarian so it makes sense to me! Every other Friday if I’ve made any changes to what resides on my bookshelves.

So that’s the quick rundown of what Mediocre Penguin will be over the next year. To end the first ever State of Mediocrity here are the top ten books that I read in 2016. Oh, and as a bonus a couple disappointments. It took an absurdly long time to narrow it down to ten and so I have no intention of attempting to list them in order. Instead here they are in the order I read them.

Top Ten

Franny and Zooey by J. D. Salinger
The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
White Noise by Don Delillo
American Pastoral by Philip Roth
The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susanna Clarke
The Winter of Our Discontent by John Steinbeck
The Tombs of Atuan by Ursula K. Le Guin
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
NW by Zadie Smith

Bonus

Least Favorite: The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo
Biggest disappointment: Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Happy Year of Reading!

-Mediocre Penguin

Leave a Reply

