I’m Thinking of Ending Things: A Review

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid
210 pages, Simon & Schuster 2016

This book is all sorts of messed up.

I’m Thinking of Ending Things was quite the change of pace. My friend Erin, who gifted me this book for Christmas, loves all things mystery, murdery, and twisted. I, on the other hand, am not typically a reader of thriller/suspense books unless it involves good ol’ James Bond but I’m willing to give any book a shot.

The structure of thrillers always throws me off kilter. I find it difficult to get into their rhythm. The short sentences.

The small chapters.

Large margins and font so you turn the pages more frequently.

Everything is life

or death.

This time around I successfully tuned myself in to the right station after about twenty pages. It was well-written and the story was intriguing but the execution fell short in the end. The final ten pages were a flurry of emotions. I was simultaneously exhilarated and confused—too confused, even considering how much the premise lends itself to confusion (curse the generalities forced by avoiding spoilers). After finishing, I went back and reread the last ten pages twice and it was still just as convoluted as the first time.

Maybe you’re not like me. Maybe you like staring at the wall in confusion after finishing books. If so, I’m Thinking of Ending Things is for you. If you want a short, fast read that will make you say what the fuck? you’re in luck.

Rating: 3 out of 5 creepy paintings

On deck: Builders by Daniel Polansky

Currently reading: The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams

Leave a Reply

